Alt. Valentine’s Selection – Richard Thomas

Unlover

 

With my white wreath thumbs,

With my prayer palms,

With my dear departed fingers,

With my callouses like the hats they’ll wear,

With my knuckles hearing the eulogy of a friend:

 

I am the funeral of no lover.

 

With my gravestone tongue,

With my moss covered teeth,

With my rich overturned soil lips,

With my tonsils like a bell tower at midnight,

With my gums engraved with ‘Here lies a good friend’:

 

I am the graveyard of no lover

 

For my mouth shall marry my hands

And spit my palmistry: unlover.

 

Richard Thomas

 

http://www.myspace.com/richardchristopherthomas

One thought on “Alt. Valentine’s Selection – Richard Thomas

  1. Bravo to the images and meaning of this salient view of ‘closing love down.’

Leave a Reply

